April 8, 2023 Six on Saturday

One of the things I love about SOS is that it reminds us to appreciate the moment and to pay attention to what is going on around us – everyday miracles, really! If you want to see these miracles unfold, join us at Garden Ruminations, hosted by Jim for a fun tour of gardens of every stripe around the world!

Spring has, for now, sprung. It was maybe 12 C today (Friday) but tomorrow will be warmer still. Then by next week, highs in the low 20s. But Winter is a cruel mistress in Wisconsin. Oh how I want to rush to plant, to coax my weeping cherry to open. Weeping cherry is smart, though. Her buds are still tight. Elderberry too, not yet tempted to push forth into Spring. (imagine dry sticks with tight buds). Rhubarb is on the move.

I noticed an Amelanchier near my office has bud break, just a hint, but they will be blooming next week if temperatures are as high as predicted. But average last frost date is May 7, so I will plant some cold lovers this weekend, they will do fine.

I want to set up my rain barrels, but last year I had some freezing when I set them up too soon, perhaps just get the blocks set up the way I want them. I noticed that the diverter cracked over winter, so it leaks a little and I need to sort that out before I can put the rain barrels up. I can’t recall if I have another and if not, should I use epoxy, or try that water sealing tape “as seen on TV”. If I have a diverter, it will be a little bit of a pain to replace the existing one, but I can’t have water loss! I may need every drop, though our drought seems to be over for the moment, with my sump pump running often. I can hear the water trickling into the pit like a small stream if I stand near the pit. Water is life, I won’t complain.

I stopped by Centennial Gardens – not a lot going on there, except in the alpine garden:

Been trying to keep the tulips and daffodils watered and gave them some nice chicken manure. They are moving along.

Muscari is beginning to bloom. I have been encouraging them to fill in around the daffodils. These grow out of a gap between the slab and the garage foundation.

Things are looking up, but there will be more cold. I have to be honest, there will definitely be more cold. But for now, I will enjoy the warm! Some good sunshine – I am about 11 KWH ahead for the month from the new solar panels. With the lengthening days, we have had a couple days where we made more than twice what we used.

Happy Easter!

8 thoughts on “April 8, 2023 Six on Saturday

  1. I think we are a bit ahead of you weatherwise here in the UK, Spring definitely arrived a few weeks ago and nothing is going to stop it now. My Amelanchier is in full bloom, the best its ever been in 25 yrs! Your grape hyacinths are determined to succeed aren’t they, you have to admire them Hope you get your better weather next week. Happy Easter to you and yours!

    Like

  2. Watching those buds begin to break… I gardened long enough in the lower Midwest to be so familiar with that feeling of hope! I love your alpines! Is that Iris danfordiae?

    Like

    1. Not sure , but probably a good guess – it is in a garden on campus where I work. I sneak over there whenever I get a chance. They have some lovely little plants often with oversized blooms, so there is often a colorful surprise in that part of the garden. The elderberry leaf buds seem to be breaking today and lilac buds are swelling. I am going to do a little garden cleanup this afternoon.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yeah, I took a closer look today – it is not the barrel, just the diverter, but I think it will be easier and more effective to replace it, so I ordered a new one. It should get here before I can realistically begin filling the barrels again.

    Like

Leave a comment